2020 DOE CSGF Annual Program Review Agenda

Monday, July 13 – Wednesday, July 15
(Note: all times Central)

Monday, July 13
10:00am DOE CSGF Welcome
David Brown — Director, Computational Research Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

DOE NNSA Welcome
Thuc Hoang — Acting Director, Advanced Simulation and Computing, National Nuclear Security Administration, U.S. Department of Energy

DOE Office of Science Welcome
Christine Chalk — DOE CSGF Program Manager, Advanced Scientific Computing Research, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy

Krell Institute Welcome
Shelly Olsan — President, Krell Institute

Sarah Elliott — University of Georgia
“Automated Computational Thermochemistry and Kinetics for Combustion”
11:00am Clay Sanders — Duke University
“Inverse Problem-Inspired Approaches for Structural Design for Dynamic Response”
11:30am Sukin Sim — Harvard University
“Quantifying Expressibility of Parameterized Quantum Circuits for Variational Quantum Algorithms”
12:00pm Riley Brady — University of Colorado
“Lagrangian Circulation of Carbon From the Southern Ocean Abyss”
12:30pm Jenelle Feather — Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Metamers of Neural Networks Reveal Divergence from Human Perceptual Systems”
1:00pm Brett Larsen — Stanford University
“Practical Leverage Score-Based Sampling for Low-Rank Tensor Decompositions”
1:30pm Kayla McCue — Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Modeling Pre-mRNA Splicing With a Stochastic Grammar Framework”
2:00pm Amaresh Sahu — University of California, Berkeley
“Irreversible Thermodynamics and Hydrodynamics of Lipid Membranes”

Monday Session Closing Remarks
Shelly Olsan — President, Krell Institute
Tuesday, July 14
10:00am Day Two Welcome
Jeffrey Hittinger — Director, Center for Applied Scientific Computing, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; DOE CSGF Alumnus

Harshil Kamdar — Harvard University
“The Milky Way in Seven Dimensions”
10:30am Emily Crabb — Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Importance of Equilibration Method and Sampling for Ab Initio Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Solvent - Lithium Salt Systems in Lithium-Air Batteries”
11:00am Ian Ochs — Princeton University
“Understanding and Exploiting Transport in Magneto-Inertial Fusion Plasmas”
11:30am Andres Salcedo — Ohio State University
“Cosmology With Stacked-Cluster Weak Lensing and Cluster-Galaxy Cross-Correlations”
12:00pm Kelly Moran — Duke University
“Bayesian Joint Modeling of Chemical Structure and Dose Response Curves”
12:30pm Sean Marks — University of Pennsylvania
“Enhanced Molecular Simulations of Ice Nucleation”
1:00pm Laura Watkins — University of Chicago
“Multiscale Reactive Molecular Dynamics Applied to Influenza A M2 Reveals Critical Insight Into Proton Transport Mechanism and Drug Binding”
1:30pm Brian Cornille — University of Wisconsin-Madison
“Macroscopic Plasma Modeling and its Application to Tokamak Disruptions”
2:00pm Cristina White — Stanford University
“Approximating Solutions to Fluid Dynamics Problems from Constrained Datasets & Anonymous Exposure Notification: A Mobile App Intervention for Protecting Privacy and Health During COVID-19”

Tuesday Session Closing Remarks
Shelly Olsan — President, Krell Institute
Wednesday, July 15
10:00am Day Three Welcome
Jeffrey Hittinger — Director, Center for Applied Scientific Computing, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; DOE CSGF Alumnus

Yuexia Lin — Harvard University
“Reference Map Technique: a Fully Eulerian Method for Fluid-Structure Interactions”
10:30am Julia Ebert — Harvard University
“A Framework for Distributed Decision-Making in Robot Swarms”
11:00am Nicholas Rivera — Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Towards Nanophotonic Free-Electron Lasers”
11:30am Kelly Kochanski — University of Colorado
“Building Scalable Models of Self-Organized Snow”
12:00pm Blake Wetherton — University of Wisconsin-Madison
“A Drift-Kinetic Method for Obtaining Gradients in Plasma Properties From Single-Point Distribution Function Data”
12:30pm Claire-Alice Hebert — Stanford University
“Precision Cosmology With the Vera C. Rubin Observatory”
1:00pm Daniel Jacobson — California Institute of Technology
“Dendritic Transition in Electrodeposition: the Reaction-Diffusion Length”
1:30pm Thomas Ludwig — Stanford University
“Insight Into Chemical Reactions at Interfaces Using Enhanced Sampling and Global Optimization Methods”

Program Review Closing Remarks
Shelly Olsan — President, Krell Institute