Noah Mandell

  • Program Years: 2015-2019
  • Academic Institution: Princeton University
  • Field of Study: Plasma Physics
  • Academic Advisor: Greg Hammett
  • Practicum(s):
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (2017)
  • Degree(s):
    B.S. Physics, University of Maryland, 2014
    Ph.D. Astrophysical Sciences (Plasma Physics), Princeton University, 2021

Current Status

  • Research Area: Plasma Physics


A. H. Hakim, N. R. Mandell, T. N. Bernard, M. Francisquez, G. W. Hammett, E. L. Shi (2020). Continuum electromagnetic gyrokinetic simulations of turbulence in the tokamak scrape-off layer and laboratory devices. Physics of Plasmas 27 (4), 042304.

N. R. Mandell, A. Hakim, G. W. Hammett, M. Francisquez (2020). Electromagnetic full-f gyrokinetics in the tokamak edge with discontinuous Galerkin methods. Journal of Plasma Physics 86 (1), 905860109.

M. Jiang, B. Gallagher, N. Mandell, A. Maguire, K. Henderson, G. Weinert (2019). A deep learning framework for mesh relaxation in arbitrary Lagrangian-Eulerian simulations. Applications of Machine Learning 11139, 111390O.

E. G. Highcock, N. R. Mandell, M. Barnes, W. Dorland (2018). Optimisation of confinement in a fusion reactor using a nonlinear turbulence model. Journal of Plasma Physics, 84(2), 905840208.

N. R. Mandell, W. Dorland, M. Landreman (2018). Laguerre-Hermite pseudo-spectral velocity formulation of gyrokinetics. Journal of Plasma Physics, 84(1), 905840108.

M. F. Martin, M. Landreman, P. Xanthopoulos, N. R. Mandell, W. Dorland (2018). The parallel boundary condition for turbulence simulations in low magnetic shear devices. Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion 60 (9), 095008.


DOE Fusion Energy Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2021
University Medal - given by University of Maryland to most outstanding senior in graduating class, 2014
Goldwater Scholar, 2013
National Merit Scholar, 2010
Banneker-Key Scholar (UMd), 2010-2014
Merrill Presidential Scholar (UMd), 2013
Outstanding Undergraduate Poster Award, APS Division of Plasma Physics Meeting, Nov 2013
S.C. Johnson Sons and Daughters Fund Scholarship, 2010-2014