Anda Trifan

  • Program Year: 2
  • Academic Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Field of Study: Theoretical and Computational Biophysics
  • Academic Advisor: Emad Tajkhorshid
  • Practicum(s): Practicum Not Yet Completed
  • Degree(s):
    B.S. Chemistry, DePaul University, 2012


Characterization of Lipid–Protein Interactions and Lipid-Mediated Modulation of Membrane Protein Function through Molecular Simulation
Melanie P. Muller, Tao Jiang, Chang Sun, Muyun Lihan, Shashank Pant, Paween Mahinthichaichan, Anda Trifan, and Emad Tajkhorshid
Chemical Reviews Article ASAP
DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemrev.8b00608

G.B. Kharas, N.E. Anderson, A. Bajor, A.C. Colbert, A. Coleman, C.E. Gregory, J. Hayes, J. Lantin, J.M. Malecki, T.C. Murphy, A. Oprescu, B.F. Rydzon, and I. Timoshevskaya. Novel Copolymers of Di- and Trialkoxy Ring-substituted Ethyl 2-Cyano-3-phenyl-2-propenoates and Styrene. J. Macromol. Sci. A50 (4) 276-280 (2013)

Expected forthcoming manuscripts in which I will be coauthor:

Trifan, A., Hallock, M.J., Golubeva, Y.A., and Pogorelov, T.V., Capturing Transmembrane Dimer Structures with Mobile Membrane: Point Mutations Take Change, In preparation, 2017

R.Strawn, N. Follmer, A. Oprescu, J. Tanaka, W.-F. Xue, J. Carey. Mutational studies of allosteric mechanism in E. coli arginine repressor. (in preparation for J. Mol. Biol.)

I. Donocheva, A. Oprescu, L. Jin. Isothermal Titration Calorimetric Study of Copper (II) Complexation to Simple Amino Acids (in preparation for J. Mol. Biol.)


Orientation of KRAS catalytic domain and membrane association
Biophysical Society Meeting, San Francisco, CA (2018)

Amino acid esters of 8-hydroxyquinoline as copper chelators
DePaul Research and Awards Symposium, Chicago, IL (2012)

ITC study of copper binding to amino acids
DePaul Research and Awards Symposium, Chicago, IL (2011)

Effects of copper on plant growth in soil
CIRRUS Student Research Showcase, Chicago, IL (2010)


Colin A Wraight Graduate Award (2017)
Biophysics Fellowship (2017)
Kelly Services Emerald Award (2014)
C. and K. Jonaitis Chemistry Award (2012)
DePaul University Department of Chemistry Scholarship (2011)
DePaul University Presidential Scholarship (2009-2012)
DePaul University Dean's List (2009-2012)