DOE CSGF Broadens Institutional Reach With 2024-2025 Class

Ames, Iowa


A record 40 students on the path to achieving doctorates in fields that emphasize use of computing and mathematics are now being welcomed into the Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) program.

The 2024-2025 incoming fellows will attend 24 U.S. universities as they learn to apply high-performance computing (HPC) to research in disciplines including quantum computing, particle physics, computational chemistry, bioinformatics, climate and atmospheric sciences, and applied mathematics. New-class members earned undergraduate degrees from 36 institutions, over one-third of which were new to the DOE CSGF.

The program, established in 1991 and funded by the DOE Office of Science and National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), trains top leaders in computational science. As of Sept. 1, the DOE CSGF will have onboarded more than 675 students across 34 cohorts and representing a total of 84 Ph.D. institutions. More than 500 program alumni work in an expanding number of fields that support computing's capacity to address problems important to the nation’s future.

“We would like to extend a warm welcome to the new class in this unique program, which provides outstanding opportunities to students pursuing doctoral degrees in fields that use high-performance computing to solve complex science and engineering problems. Development in this area is critical to building and maintaining a strong technical and scientific workforce,” said Dr. Ceren Susut, Associate Director of DOE’s Advanced Scientific Computing Research program.

“The CSGF provides a unique opportunity for emerging leaders in high-performance computing to directly contribute to NNSA’s mission of providing a resilient Nuclear Security Enterprise for the Nation, our allies, and our partners. By better understanding the key scientific issues in HPC and the scientific underpinnings necessary to ensure a safe, secure, and reliable nuclear deterrent, CSGF remains a great investment in our mission and workforce,” adds Dr. Steve Binkley, Assistant Deputy Administrator for Research, Development, Test, and Evaluation in NNSA’s Office of Defense Programs.

The DOE CSGF’s interdisciplinary science and engineering track supports students in a range of fields, but all share a common element: applying HPC to research problems. A second track supports those studying applied mathematics, statistics, computer science, computer engineering or computational science – in one of those departments or their academic equivalent − with research interests that help scientists use emerging high-performance systems more effectively. This includes students focused on issues in HPC as a broad enabling technology rather than a particular science or engineering application. Regardless of track affiliation, fellows’ research increasingly includes elements of artificial intelligence and machine learning – uniquely positioning them to contribute to the United States’ investments in current and future computing architectures.

Fellows receive exceptional benefits, including a $45,000 yearly stipend; full payment of university tuition and required fees; and an annual academic allowance. Renewable for up to four years, the fellowship is guided by a comprehensive program of study that requires focused coursework in science and engineering, computer science, applied mathematics and HPC. It also includes a three-month practicum at one of 21 DOE laboratories or sites across the country.

The newest fellows, their institutions (UG = undergrad) and research focus are:

David Abadie
Molecular Simulation/Quantum Computing
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
UG: Tulane University

Vaishnavi Addala
Quantum Information Science
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
UG: Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Caira Anderson
Applied Mathematics
Cornell University
UG: Smith College

Julian Bellavita
Computer Science
Cornell University
UG: University of California, Berkeley

Isabel Berry
Computational Chemistry
Georgia Institute of Technology
UG: Eckerd College

Conor Bready
Theoretical Chemistry
University of California, Berkeley
UG: Furman University

Logan Cabral-Pelletier
Geophysical Sciences
University of Chicago
UG: University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth

Alvaro Carbonero Gonzales
Electrical Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
UG: University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Clement Charles
University of Maryland, College Park
UG: University of the West Indies

Emily Chen
Computational Materials Science
Stanford University
UG: University of Chicago

Luis de Pablo
Computational Ecology
University of Colorado Boulder
UG: Amherst College

James Dockery
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
UG: College of Charleston

Marissa (Mar) Dolorfino
Bioinformatics/Computational Biology
University of Michigan
UG: Kalamazoo College

Rae Fadlovich
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of California, Santa Cruz
UG: Arizona State University

Raven Gallenstein
Computational Chemistry
Boston College
UG: Texas Woman's University

Fred Angelo Garcia
Columbia University
UG: University of Maryland, College Park

Gabriel Guo
Computer Science
Stanford University
UG: Columbia University

Alexia Hartzell
Physical Chemistry
University of Texas at Austin
UG: University of Texas, Arlington

Jessica Jiang
California Institute of Technology
UG: Smith College

Nothando Khumalo
Theoretical Chemistry
University of California, Los Angeles
UG: Bowdoin College

Tanvi Krishnan
Experimental Neutrino Physics
Harvard University
UG: Harvey Mudd College

Jackson Lee
Condensed Matter Physics
Columbia University
UG: Rutgers University

Vassiliki Mancoridis
Environmental Science
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
UG: Princeton University

Aaron Miller
Applied Mathematics
Harvard University
UG: University of North Carolina

Grant (Cage) Mitchell
Computational Oceanography
Stanford University
UG: Coastal Carolina University

Praneeta (Prani) Nalluri
Applied Mathematics
Columbia University
UG: Rice University

Alex Negron
Princeton University
UG: Illinois Institute of Technology

Zijian (William) Niu
Computational and Systems Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
UG: University of Pennsylvania

Ibrohim Nosirov
Applied Mathematics
Cornell University
UG: Colorado School of Mines

Maxwell Paik
Computer Graphics
New York University
UG: Northwestern University

Margaret Powell
Climate and Atmospheric Sciences
Columbia University
UG: Harvard College

Cameron Rodriguez
Engineering Mechanics
Columbia University
UG: University of Florida

Sevio Stanton
Particle Physics
University of Colorado Boulder
UG: Boise State University

Maya Taylor
Parallel Programming
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
UG: Brown University

Anne Tumlin
Computer Science
Vanderbilt University
UG: University of South Carolina

Jessica Williams
Computer Science
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
UG: Texas A&M University

Xiaomian Yang
Polymer Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
UG: Stanford University

William Yik
Atmospheric Sciences
University of Washington
UG: Harvey Mudd College

Albert Zhu
Computational Physics
Harvard University
UG: Harvard University

Sophia Zorek
Computer Vision and Applied Probability
Rice University
UG: Rice University

Additional details for each fellow will be available in September via the program’s online fellow directory. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information or find the fellowship on Facebookand Twitter.