Benjamin Galloway

  • Program Years: 2013-2017
  • Academic Institution: University of Colorado Boulder
  • Field of Study: Atomic, Molecular, Optical Physics
  • Academic Advisor: Margaret Murnane
  • Practicum(s):
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (2014)
  • Degree(s):
    Ph.D. Physics, University of Colorado at Boulder; M.S. Applied Physics, Colorado School of Mines, 2012; B.S. Physics, Colorado School of Mines, 2011

Current Status

  • Status: Electro-Optical Engineer and Advanced Technical Leadership Program at Lockheed Martin Space
  • Research Area: Atomic, Molecular, Optical Physics
  • Contact Information:


A. J. Harvey-Thompson, M. Geissel, J. A. Crabtree, M. R. Weis, M. R. Gomez, J. R. Fein, W. E. Lewis, D. J. Ampleford, T. J. Awe, G. A. Chandler, B. R. Galloway, S. B. Hansen, J. Hanson, E. C. Harding, C. A. Jennings, M. Kimmel, P. F. Knapp, M. A. Mangan, A. Maurer, R. R. Paguio, L. Perea, K. J. Peterson, J. L. Porter, P. K. Rambo, G. K. Robertson, G. A. Rochau, D. E. Ruiz, J. E. Shores, S. A. Slutz, G. E. Smith, I. C. Smith, C. S. Speas, D. A. Yager-Elorriaga, A. York, "Demonstration of improved laser preheat with a cryogenically cooled magnetized liner inertial fusion platform," Rev Sci Instrum 94(5), 053506 (2023).

Q. Looker, E. J. Oberla, J. W. Stahoviak, I. Mostafanezhad, R. Pang, M. Luck, B. R. Galloway, P. K. Rambo, J. L. Porter, "The ultrafast pixel array camera system and its applications in high energy density physics," Review of Scientific Instruments 93, 074702 (2022).

B. R. Galloway, P. K. Rambo, M. Geissel, M. W. Kimmel1, J. W. Kellogg, J. Elle, T. Garrett, J. L. Porter, G. A. Rochau, "A study of sacrificial mirrors for use prior to a laser wakefield accelerator driven by the Z-Petawatt laser," SAND Report SAND2022-6710 (2022).

B. R. Galloway, S. A. Slutz, M. W. Kimmel, P. K. Rambo, J. Schwarz, M. Geissel, A. J. Harvey-Thomson, M. R. Weis, C. A. Jennings, E. S. Field, D. E. Kletecka, Q. Looker, A. P. Colombo, A. D. Edens, I. C. Smith, J. E. Shores, C. S. Speas, R. J. Speas, A. P. Spann, J. Sin, S. Gautier, V. Sauget, P. A. Treadwell, G. A. Rochau, and J. L. Porter, "Lasergate: a windowless gas target for enhanced laser preheat in Magnetized Liner Inertial Fusion," Phys. Plasmas 28, 112703 (2021).

D. Yager-Eloriaga, et al., "An overview of magneto-inertial fusion on the Z Machine at Sandia National Laboratories," Nucl. Fusion in press (2021).

D. B. Sinars, et al., "Review of pulsed power-driven high energy density physics research on Z at Sandia," Phys. Plasmas 23(7), 070501 (2020).

Ella S Field, Benjamin R Galloway, Damon E Kletecka, Patrick K Rambo, Ian C Smith, "Dual-wavelength laser-induced damage threshold of a HfO2/SiO2 dichroic coating developed for high transmission at 527 nm and high reflection at 1054 nm," Proc. SPIE 11173, Laser-induced Damage in Optical Materials 11173, 1117314 (2019).

M Schollmeier, T Ao, ES Field, BR Galloway, P Kalita, MW Kimmel, DV Morgan, PK Rambo, J Schwarz, JE Shores, IC Smith, CS Speas, JF Benage, JL Porter, "Polycapillary x-ray lenses for single-shot, laser-driven powder diffraction," Rev. Sci. Instr. 89(10), 10F102 (2018).

D. Popmintchev, B. R. Galloway, M.-C. Chen, F. Dollar, C. Mancuso, L. Miaja-Avila, G. O'Neil, J. Shaw, G. Fan, S. Alisauskas, G. Andriukaitis, T. Balciunas, O. D. Mucke, A. Pugzlys, A. Baltuska, H. C. Kapteyn, T. Popmintchev, and M. M. Murnane, "Near and extended edge X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy using ultrafast coherent high-order harmonic supercontinua," Phys. Rev. Lett. 120(9), 093002 (2018).

E. Pisanty, D. D. Hickstein, B. R. Galloway, C. G. Durfee, H. C. Kapteyn, M. M. Murnane, M. Ivanov, "High harmonic interferometry of the Lorentz force in strong mid-infrared laser fields," N. J. Phys. 20(5), 053036 (2018).

B. R. Galloway, "High-Order Harmonic Generation Driven by Mid-Infrared Laser Light," University of Colorado at Boulder PhD Thesis (2017).

D. F. Gardner, M. Tanksalvala, E. R. Shanblatt, X. Zhang, B. R. Galloway, C. R. Porter, R. Karl-Jr., C. Bevis, D. E. Adams, H. Kaptyen, M. Murnane, G. F. Mancini, "Sub-wavelength coherent imaging of periodic samples using a 13.5nm tabletop High Harmonic light source," Nat. Phot. 11(4), 259-263 (2017).

B. R. Galloway, D. Popmintchev, E. Pisanty, D. D. Hickstein, M. M. Murnane, H. C. Kapteyn, and T. Popmintchev, "Lorentz drift compensation in high harmonic generation in the soft and hard X-ray regions of the spectrum," Opt. Ex. 24(19), 21818-21832 (2016).

M.-C. Chen, C. Mancuso, C. Hernandez-Garcia, F. Dollar, B. R. Galloway, D. Popmintchev, P.C. Huang, B. Walker, L. Plaja, A. A. Jaron-Becker, A. Becker, M. M. Murnane, H. C. Kapteyn, and T. Popmintchev, "Generation of bright isolated attosecond soft X-ray pulses driven by multicycle midinfrared lasers," PNAS 111(23), 8329-8330 (2014).

M. Iliev, A. Meier, B. R. Galloway, D. Adams, J. A. Squier, C. G. Durfee, "Measurement of energy contrast of amplified ultrashort pulses using cross-polarized wave generation and spectral interferometry," Opt. Ex. 22(15), 17968-17978 (2014).

B. R. Galloway, C. G. Durfee, "Development of a passively stable and dispersion compensated transient grating apparatus to measure ultrafast dynamics," Co. Sch. Mines Dept. Phys. Thesis 6986 (2012).

Z. H. Levine, B. R. Galloway, A. P. Peskin, "RECIST applied to realistic tumor models," J. Res. Natl. Inst. Stand. Technol. 116(3), 685-688 (2011).

Z. H. Levine, B. R. Galloway, A. P. Peskin, C. P. Heussel, and J. J. Chen, "Tumor volume measurement errors of RECIST studied with ellipsoids," Med. Phys. 38(5), 2552-2557 (2011).


Advanced Technical Leadership Program, 5/2023.
Lockheed Martin Team EETA Award, 12/2022.
Sandia National Labs Spot Award, 11/2021.
Sandia National Labs Spot Award, 11/2020.
Sandia National Labs LDRD, 10/2020 (FY2021).
NNSA SSGF Essay Slam Contest Award, 2017.
Poster Honorable Mention, LLNL summer student poster symposium, 8/7/14.
Outstanding Poster Award, NNSA SSAP symposium, 2/18/14.
NNSA SSGF Fellowship (starting September 2013).
Peter Henning Fellowship, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2012.
Distinguished Physics Student Award, Colorado School of Mines, 2011.
Graduated Summa Cum Laude, Colorado School of Mines, 2011.
Dean's List, Colorado School of Mines, 2009 - 2012.
President's Scholarship, Colorado School of Mines, 2008 - 2010.
Rocky Mountain Electric League Scholarship, 2008 - 2010.