Heather Netzloff

  • Program Years: 2000-2004
  • Academic Institution: Iowa State University
  • Field of Study: Physical Chemistry
  • Academic Advisor: Mark Gordon
  • Practicum(s):
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2001)
  • Degree(s):
    Ph.D. Physical Chemistry, Iowa State University, 2004
    B.A. Chemistry/Math, Minot State University, 1999
    A.A., Baking & Pastry Arts, The Art Institute of Phoenix, 2010

Current Status

  • Status: Self Employed
  • Research Area: Quantum/Theoretical/Computational Chemistry


Netzloff, H.M.; Gordon, M.S.; Christe, K.; Wilson, W.W.; Vij, A.; Vij, V.; Boatz,J.A. “On the Existence of FN5, a Theoretical and Experimental Study” J. Phys. Chem. A.; 2003; 107(34); 6638-6647.

Netzloff, H.M. and Gordon, M.S. “The Effective Fragment Potential: Small Clusters and Radial Distribution Functions”, J. Chem. Phys.; 2004; 121; 2711-2714.

Netzloff, H.M. and Gordon, M.S. “Fast Fragments: The Development of a Parallel Effective Fragment Potential Method”, J. Comp. Chem.; 2004; 25 (15); 1926-1936.

Netzloff, H.M.; Collins, M.A.; Gordon, M.S. “Growing Multi-Configurational Potential Energy Surfaces With Applications to X + H2 (X=C, N, O) Reactions”, J. Chem. Phys.; 2006; 124; 154104-154119.

Netzloff, H.M.; Collins, M.A. “Ab initio Energies of Non-Conducting Crystals by Systematic Fragmentation”, J. Chem. Phys.;2007; 127; 134113-134126.

Li, H.; Netzloff, H.M.; Gordon, M.S. “Gradients of the Polarization Energy in the Effective Fragment Potential Method”, J. Chem. Phys.; 2006; 125; 194103-194112.

Wu, M.S.; Mori, H.; Bentz, J.; Windus, T.; Netzloff, H.; Sosokina, M.; Gordon, M.S. “Constructing a Performance Databases for Large-Scale Quantum Chemistry Packages”, 2008 HPCS Proceedings; Ottawa, Canada.


NSF International Research Fellowship
Iowa State University Research Excellence Award
Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE/Krell Institute)
Sleight Graduate Student Chemistry Scholarship (ISU)
Arthur P. Hellwig Fellowship (ISU Dept. of Chemistry)
Miller Fellowship (ISU)
PACE Fellow (ISU)
Special Recognition Award (ISU College of Engineering Leadership Through Engineering Academic Diversity Program)