CSGF Welcomes 2018-2019 Incoming Class of 25

Ames, Iowa

The Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) was established in 1991 to train and produce the country's next generation of leaders in computational science. More than 450 students have been named fellows in the time since, each a representative for computing's capacity to advance science across a variety of disciplines.

Twenty-five awardees — the fellowship's twenty-eighth incoming class — will begin their studies this fall:

Christiane Adcock
Stanford University
Computational and Mathematical Engineering

Sydney Andrews
Stony Brook University

Kaley Brauer
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jacob Bringewatt
University of Maryland, College Park

Kimberly Cushman
Yale University

Justin Finkel
University of Chicago
Computational and Applied Mathematics

Ryder Fox
University of Miami
Meteorology and Physical Oceanography

Steven Fromm
Michigan State University

Sarah Greer
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mathematics and Computational Science

Olivia Hull
Kansas State University
Physical Chemistry

Edward Hutter
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Computer Science

Dipti Jasrasaria
University of California, Berkeley
Chemistry (Physical - Theory)

K. Grace Johnson
Stanford University
Chemical Physics
Logan Kunka
Texas A&M University
Aerospace Engineering

William Moses
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Computer Science

Samuel Olivier
University of California, Berkeley
Nuclear Engineering

Melissa Queen
University of Washington
Information Theory

Jesse Rodriguez
Stanford University
Plasma Physics

Lawrence Roy
Oregon State University
Computer Graphics

Steven Stetzler
University of Washington

James Sullivan
University of California, Berkeley

Anda Trifan
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Theoretical and Computational Biophysics

Michael Tucker
University of Hawaii

Caitlin Whitter
Purdue University
Computer Science

Paul Zhang
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Geometric Data Processing

For the first time, the DOE CSGF includes a track for those pursuing an advanced degree in applied mathematics, statistics or computer science with research interests that help use emerging high-performance systems more effectively. Students focused on issues in high-performance computing as a broad enabling technology and not on a particular science or engineering application are included in this class.

As part of the program, these individuals receive exceptional benefits including a yearly stipend; full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period); and an annual academic allowance. Renewable for up to four years, the fellowship is guided by a comprehensive program of study that requires focused coursework in the areas of science/engineering, computer science and applied mathematics. It also includes a three-month practicum at one of 21 Department of Energy laboratories or sites across the country.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online fellow directory on or after September 1, 2018. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.