CSGF Welcomes 2017-2018 Incoming Class of 20

Ames, Iowa

The Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) was established in 1991 to train and produce the country's next generation of leaders in computational science. More than 425 students have been named fellows in the time since, each a representative for computing's capacity to advance science across a variety of disciplines.

Twenty new awardees — the fellowship's twenty-seventh incoming class — will begin their studies this fall:

Peter Ahrens
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Computer Science

Robert Baraldi
University of Washington
Applied Mathematics

Matthew Carbone
Columbia University
Chemical Physics

Gabriela Correa
Cornell University
Materials Science

Jennifer Coulter
Harvard University
Computational Materials Physics

Priya Donti
Carnegie Mellon University
Computer Science and Energy Policy

Annie Katsevich
New York University
Applied Mathematics

Jonas Kaufman
University of California, Santa Barbara
Computational Materials

Morgan Kelley
University of Texas
Process Systems

Claire Kopenhafer
Michigan State University
Alicia Magann
Princeton University

Quentarius Moore
Texas A&M University

Kari Norman
University of California, Berkeley

Miriam Rathbun
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Computational Reactor Physics

Kevin Silmore
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Chemical Engineering

Benjamin Toms
Colorado State University
Atmospheric Science

Steven Torrisi
Harvard University
Materials Physics

Annie Wei
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Quantum Information/Quantum Algorithms

Zachary Weiner
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Cosmology, High Energy

Malia Wenny
Harvard University

As part of the program, these individuals receive exceptional benefits including a yearly stipend; full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period); and an annual academic allowance. Renewable for up to four years, the fellowship is guided by a comprehensive program of study that requires focused coursework in the areas of science/engineering, computer science and applied mathematics. It also includes a three-month practicum at one of 21 Department of Energy laboratories or sites across the country.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online fellow directory on or after September 1, 2017. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.