DOE NNSA Welcomes Largest Combined SSGF and LRGF Class

Ames, Iowa


Eleven students representing nine U.S. universities will join the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Stewardship Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA SSGF) and its sister program, the Laboratory Residency Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA LRGF) in fall 2023.

The DOE NNSA SSGF was established in 2006 to meet a demand for scientists with in-depth training in areas relevant to stewardship of the nation's nuclear stockpile. It educates doctoral students who research high energy density physics, nuclear science, or materials under extreme conditions.

Recipients for the 18th (2023-2024) DOE NNSA SSGF academic year, their institutions and areas of interest (subject to change) are:

  • Scott Campbell – Michigan State University (Nuclear Physics)
  • Monica Martinez Henriquez – University of Texas at Austin (Materials Science)
  • Veera Panova – Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Materials Science)
  • Robert Spiers – University of Delaware (Physics of the Universe)
  • Jackson White – University of Texas at Austin (Plasma Spectral Line Shapes)

The DOE NNSA LRGF, founded in 2017, connects laboratory scientists with professors and students working in stewardship science fields, fostering collaborative research relationships via residencies at one or more of four DOE NNSA-approved facilities for a minimum of two 12-week periods, although extended residencies are encouraged. The DOE NNSA LRGF supports hands-on experience in engineering and applied sciences, physics, mathematics and computational science.

Students joining the DOE NNSA LRGF in its sixth academic year, their institutions, subject areas and planned residency locations are:

  • Andres Castillo – Stanford University (Multidisciplinary Computational Sciences); Sandia National Laboratories
  • Raimi Clark – Texas Tech University (Electrical Engineering); Sandia National Laboratories
  • Shailaja Humane – University of Michigan (Computational Plasma Physics); Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Joshua Luoma – Cornell University (Applied Physics); Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Christopher Roper – Georgia Institute of Technology (Plasma Physics); Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Dawson Wright – Texas Tech University (Electrical Engineering); Nevada National Security Site

This is the largest DOE NNSA LRGF incoming class yet and the first time all four residency facilities will have at least one fellow on site.

Both programs provide exceptional benefits (renewable for up to four years), including a yearly stipend, full payment of tuition and required fees, an annual academic allowance and attendance at an annual joint program review.

Additional details for each fellowship recipient will be available on the DOE NNSA SSGF's and DOE NNSA LRGF's fellow directories in September. Meanwhile, contact us for further information or visit the DOE NNSA NNSGFand DOE NNSA LRGFon Twitter.