DOE NNSA SSGF Accepts Six Students for 2022-2023 Class

Ames, Iowa

Students from the University of Notre Dame, the University of Texas at El Paso, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Colorado School of Mines, Stanford University and the University of Connecticut will join the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Stewardship Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA SSGF) in fall 2022.

The DOE NNSA established the program in 2006 to meet a demand for scientists with deep training in areas of interest to stewardship science. It supports the education of doctoral students researching high energy density physics (HEDP), nuclear science (NS), or materials under extreme conditions and hydrodynamics (MUEC).

Students joining the DOE NNSA SSGF for its 17th (2022-2023) academic year are:*

Kelsey Anderson
University of Notre Dame
Actinide Chemistry (MUEC & NS)

Sofia Gomez
University of Texas at El Paso
Mechanical Engineering (MUEC)

Lansing Horan, IV
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Plasma Science and Fusion (HEDP & NS)

Christopher Jasien
Colorado School of Mines
Metallurgy and Materials (MUEC)

Derek Kuldinow
Stanford University
Aeronautics and Astronautics (HEDP)

Elyse Schriber
University of Connecticut
Materials (MUEC)

The new fellows will receive exceptional benefits, including a yearly stipend, full payment of university tuition and required fees and an annual academic allowance. Renewable for up to four years, the fellowship also includes a three-month practicum at one of four DOE national defense laboratory sites.

Additional details for each fellow will be available in September via the program’s online fellow directory. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.

* Academic institutions and fields of study reported as of release date; subject to change.