DOE NNSA SSGF Accepts Five Students for 2021-2022 Class

Ames, Iowa
Monday, April 19, 2021

Students from the University of Colorado Boulder, Princeton University, Washington University in St. Louis, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Vanderbilt University will join the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Stewardship Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA SSGF) in fall 2021.

The DOE NNSA established the program in 2006 to meet a demand for scientists with deep training in areas of interest to stewardship science. It supports the education of doctoral students researching high energy density physics, nuclear science, or materials under extreme conditions and hydrodynamics. Students joining the DOE NNSA SSGF for its 16th (2021-2022) academic year are:

John Copley
Princeton University
Materials Under Extreme Conditions

Garrett King
Washington University in St. Louis
Nuclear Science

River Leversee
University of Colorado Boulder
Materials Under Extreme Conditions
Benjamin Reichelt
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
High Energy Density Physics

Yoni Xiong
Vanderbilt University
Nuclear Science

The new fellows will receive exceptional benefits, including a yearly stipend, full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period) and an annual academic allowance. Renewable for up to four years, the fellowship also includes a three-month practicum at one of four DOE national defense laboratory sites.

Additional details for each fellow will be available in September via the program’s online fellow directory. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.