SSGF Announces 2015-16 Incoming Class

Ames, Iowa
Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Recognizing an ever-increasing demand for scientists highly trained in areas of interest to stewardship science, the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration founded the Stewardship Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA SSGF) in 2006. Fellowships are granted annually and fund the education of doctoral students whose course of study involves high-energy density physics, nuclear science, or materials under extreme conditions and hydrodynamics.

Six awardees have been named for what will be the fellowship's tenth (2015-2016) academic year:

Nathan Finney
Columbia University
Micro/Nanoscale Engineering

Leo Kirsch
University of California, Berkeley
Accelerator Physics

Amy Lovell
Michigan State University
Theoretical Nuclear Physics
Christopher Miller
Georgia Institute of Technology
Materials Science

Brooklyn Noble
University of Utah

Alison Saunders
University of California, Berkeley
Warm Dense Matter

As part of the program, these individuals will receive exceptional benefits including a yearly stipend, full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period), and an annual academic allowance. Renewable up to four years, the fellowship experience also includes a three-month practicum at one of four DOE national defense laboratory sites.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online fellow directory on or after September 1, 2015. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.