SSGF Welcomes 2017-2018 Incoming Class of Five

Ames, Iowa
Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Recognizing an ever-increasing demand for scientists highly trained in areas of interest to stewardship science, the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration founded the Stewardship Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA SSGF) in 2006. Fellowships are granted annually and fund the education of doctoral students whose course of study involves high-energy density physics, nuclear science, or materials under extreme conditions and hydrodynamics.

Five awardees have been named for what will be the fellowship's 12th (2017-2018) academic year:

Emily Abel
Michigan State University

Paul Fanto
Yale University

Erin Nissen
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Gabriel Shipley
University of New Mexico
Magneto-Inertial Fusion

Gil Shohet
Stanford University
Aeronautics and Astronautics

As part of the program, these individuals will receive exceptional benefits including a yearly stipend, full payment of university tuition and required fees (during the appointment period), and an annual academic allowance. Renewable up to four years, the fellowship experience also includes a three-month practicum at one of four DOE national defense laboratory sites.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online fellow directory on or after September 1, 2017. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.