Four Students to Join the DOE NNSA LRGF in Fall 2019

Ames, Iowa
Thursday, April 25, 2019

Graduate students from the East, South and West will join the Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Laboratory Residency Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA LRGF) this fall, earning the opportunity to study at government facilities for extended periods.

The program connects laboratory scientists with professors and students working in fields relevant to stewardship of the nation’s nuclear stockpile, fostering collaborative research relationships. It strengthens these laboratory-university links through an unusual and exciting provision: Fellows will work and study in residence at one or more of four approved DOE NNSA facilities for a minimum of two 12-week periods.

Members of the 2019-20 incoming fellowship cohort, their subject areas, universities and residency locations are:

William Brooks
Texas Tech University
Pulsed Power
Sandia National Laboratories

Ryan Childers
University of Nevada, Reno
Sandia National Laboratories
Eldred Lee
Dartmouth College
Materials Science and Engineering
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Dane Sterbentz
University of California, Davis
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

The fellowship provides excellent financial benefits and professional development opportunities to students pursuing a Ph.D. in fields of study that address complex science and engineering problems critical to stewardship science.

Program guidelines encourage laboratory stays beyond the minimum two visits, up to or including pursuit of thesis studies at a chosen site. This residency requirement opens compelling research opportunities to students and their advisors, including access to unique DOE NNSA experimental and computing facilities.

The Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration supports the fellowship to train scientists vital to meeting U.S. workforce needs in advanced science and engineering.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online fellow directory on or after September 1, 2019. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.