LRGF Welcomes Inaugural Fellows Class

Ames, Iowa
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Four doctoral candidates from four universities comprise the first class of a new fellowship that will place them in Department of Energy (DOE) laboratories for long-term study and research.

The DOE National Nuclear Security Administration Laboratory Residency Graduate Fellowship (DOE NNSA LRGF) will connect professors and students working in fields relevant to the DOE with laboratory scientists, fostering collaborative research relationships. The program will strengthen these university-laboratory links through an unusual and exciting provision: fellows will work and study in residence at one or more of four approved DOE NNSA facilities for a minimum of two 12-week periods.

Members of the inaugural fellowship cohort, their subject areas, universities and residency locations are:

Stephanie Miller
University of Michigan
Plasmas and Nuclear Fusion
Sandia National Laboratories

William Riedel
Stanford University
Plasma Physics
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Raspberry Simpson
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Plasma Physics
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Travis Voorhees
Georgia Institute of Technology
Materials Science and Engineering
Los Alamos National Laboratory

The fellowship provides excellent financial benefits and professional development opportunities to students pursuing a Ph.D. in fields of study that address complex science and engineering problems critical to stewardship science.

Program guidelines encourage laboratory stays beyond the minimum two visits, up to or including pursuit of thesis studies at a chosen site. This residency requirement opens compelling research opportunities to students and their advisors, including access to unique DOE NNSA experimental and computing facilities.

The Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration funds the fellowship to train scientists vital to meeting U.S. workforce needs in advanced science and engineering.

Additional details for each fellow will be available via the program's online directory on or after September 1, 2018. Meanwhile, please contact us for further information.