Fellowship Strongly Represented at SIAM Meeting

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

The Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) will once again have a prominent role at this year’s Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Conference on Computational Science and Engineering.

The gathering, February 25 through March 1 in Spokane, Washington, will feature a showcase of DOE CSGF-supported research. It was organized by alumni David Ketcheson (2006-2009) of Saudi Arabia’s King Abdullah University of Science and Technology and Mayya Tokman (1996-2000) of the University of California, Merced.

Ketcheson also will speak during the showcase, along with alumni Claire Ralph (2008-2012) of the California Institute of Technology, Ryan Elliott (2000-2004) of the University of Minnesota, Jeff Hammond (2005-2009) of Intel Corp., Brent Kirkpatrick (2004-2008) of Intrepid Net Computing, and Jordan Atlas (2005-2009) of Microsoft Corp. Current fellows Edward Hutter of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Maximilian Bremer of the University of Texas at Austin also are on the program.

Alumnus Jeffrey Hittinger (1996-2000) of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is a co-chair of the conference committee. Stefan Wild (2005-2008) of Argonne National Laboratory also is on the committee.

Many other alumni and fellows also are on the program as speakers, poster presenters or coauthors, or are organizing sessions.