Frederick A. Howes Scholar Award

Photo of Frederick A. Howes, who managed the DOE's Applied Mathematical Science Program in the 1990s.The Frederick A. Howes Scholar in Computational Science award was established to honor the late Frederick Anthony Howes (pictured left) who managed the Department of Energy's Applied Mathematical Sciences Program during the 1990s. Dr. Howes was highly respected and admired for his energy, dedication and personal integrity.

To honor Dr. Howes' memory and his dedication to the DOE CSGF program, one or two alumni are chosen each calendar year as a Howes Scholar.  This award is bestowed upon a recent graduate of the DOE CSGF program who has shown outstanding leadership, character and technical achievement in the field of computational science.  It includes a substantial cash award, a crystal paperweight and the distinction of being named a Howes Scholar.

Read more about Howes Scholar award eligibility and the nomination process.

2013 Howes Scholar

Ashlee Ford Versypt, 2013 Howes Scholar in Computational ScienceDOE CSGF alumna Ashlee Ford Versypt was named the 2013 Frederick A. Howes Scholar in Computational Science and was formally recognized at the July 2013 DOE CSGF Annual Program Review in Arlington, Va.  Ford Versypt earned her doctoral degree in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) in 2012 and now is a postdoctoral research associate in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) chemical engineering department.

Her work – published in several top journals – centers on the modeling, simulation and design of controlled-release medications, specifically models to predict the behavior of biodegradable polymers used to encapsulate drugs.  In essence, scientists using Ford Versypt’s models could more quickly and inexpensively find the chemical combinations to release just the right amounts of medication at the right times. 

Read the full Howes Scholar release and visit Ford Versypt's personal website and blog for more information.

Past Winners

Since the award's inception in 2001, the following members of the DOE CSGF community have been recognized as Howes Scholars:

  • Carolyn Phillips and Matthew Reuter, 2012
  • Alejandro Rodriguez, 2011
  • Julianne Chung, 2010
  • David Potere, 2009
  • Mala Radhakrishnan, 2008
  • Jaydeep Bardhan and Kristen Grauman, 2007
  • Kevin Chu and Matthew Wolinsky, 2006
  • Ryan Elliott and Judith Hill, 2005
  • Collin Wick, 2004
  • Oliver Fringer and Jon Wilkening, 2003
  • Jeffrey Hittinger and Mayya Tokman, 2001

Read more about past winners.